The Whole30: Day 30

Day 30 was just like any other day…  I started my day with my normal breakfast bowl of arugula, granny smith apple, cucumber, avocado, hard boiled egg, coconut shavings, seeds, and walnuts.  Sound delicious?  It is!  Seriously – this bowl is sometimes the reason I get out of be early in the mornings!  Give it a try!

breakfast bowl

And while there was no parade or confetti showers to celebrate my Day 30 success… the sun was shining for once… and it was a Friday… so pretty much an awesome day here in Uppsala, Sweden.

Now I know that you are probably expecting some sort of post about why I love the Whole30 and why everyone and their mother should stop what they are doing and start a Whole30 this instant… and yes I may think that… However, I can say that the Whole30 it is not for everyone.

The Whole30 was a huge commitment and lifestyle change for not only myself but for everyone around me.  Thirty days can seem like a lifetime when each meal needs to be prepared with caution and consideration.  I had clients who loved the Whole30 so much they told me they were planning to continue for another 30 days.  I also had clients who told me they were going to have cake as soon as it was over.  Most, including myself, were going to keep the Whole30 spirit alive but adopt a bit more wiggle room by switching to a Paleo diet.

So if you are considering doing your first Whole30… be sure to ask yourself why are you doing it?  Like I have said before (link to post here) starting a Whole30 for a superficial or cosmetic reason will lead you down the path to a unsuccessful Whole30, or even worse upon finishing your Whole30, leave you feeling the need to binge eat and gorge on unapproved foods just for the sake of eating, not because you need or want them.

Those who completed the Whole30 for personal reasons such as battling food and sugar addiction, recovering from depression, exploring possible food allergies, having high blood pressure, and those who were overweight and experiencing medical complications, all competed a successful Whole30.  Weight-loss has to be viewed as a benefit of starting a Whole30 program, and is the result of eating healthy and participating in moderate-rigorous exercise.

Other benefits of completing the Whole30 program are…

  1. Improved body composition
  2. Improved athletic performance
  3. Better sleep
  4. Improved focus and mental clarity
  5. Sunnier disposition (Increased positive outlook)

The psychological benefits of the Whole30 may include…

  1.  Effectively changing long-standing, unhealthy habits related to food
  2. Developing a healthier body image
  3. Dramatic reduction or elimination of cravings, particularly for sugar and carbohydrates
  4. The feeling of …“Food freedom”

And finally, many have reported improvements to a number of lifestyle-related diseases and conditions such as…

high blood pressure • high cholesterol • type 1 diabetes • type 2 diabetes • asthma • allergies • sinus infections • hives • skin conditions • endometriosis • PCOS • infertility • migraines • depression • bipolar disorder • heartburn • GERD • arthritis • joint pain • ADD • thyroid dysfunction • Lyme disease • fibromyalgia • chronic fatigue • lupus • leaky gut syndrome • Crohn’s • IBS • Celiac disease • diverticulitis • ulcerative colitis

So what am I saying? I am fugitively passing the torch on to you the reader.  The information is in your hands now.  You are the one to live in your body.  You are the one has to decide what the Whole30 means to you.  The Whole30 changed my life, it changed the way I viewed food, and it changed who I thought I was and what I needed to feel good from the inside out.

If you have opportunity to start your first Whole30, give the blog a read again and build yourself a support team.  If you are still have questions about the Whole30, just ask!  Send me a message, I would be happy to answer anything realated to the Whole30 and training the best I can.

To everyone who followed my journey and read the blog… cheers to you!  And stay tuned – there is more to come this fall.  /Kayleigh


Source: http://whole30.com/step-one/

 

One thought on “The Whole30: Day 30

Leave a comment